Sponsored Ad

Dismiss Notice
For fuller site visibility and advert-free browsing, simply log-in or register.

Alright guys

Discussion in 'Introductions & Welcome to the Royal Marines Site' started by AndyNI, Feb 3, 2009.

1. AndyNI

AndyNI Valuable Contributor

I'm kind of new to this whole thing but here goes nothin'.
    I'm 15 still in school and want to stay on until i get my A levels, so i have the necessary qualifications to apply as a potential officer.
    I'm really into sports and i enjoy playing hockey,rugby and football, especially with my mates. Support Manchester United, don't know what you guys think but I'm certain we'll have some "heated" conversations about it.:smile1:
    If theres anything else you guys want to know feel free to ask.
    :smile:

2. Scorpio

Scorpio Veteran Contributor

seems like a good plan, stick to it :smile:

3. AdmiralAwesome

AdmiralAwesome Active Member

Welcome!

I'm sure you know, 80% of people who get through YO training are graduates. I'm not saying you should go off and get a degree, but without one you'll really, really have to shine.

Get plenty of leadership experience any way you can - DofE, Cadets, Sports Teams, School societies etc.

I'm slightly envious. I wish I knew what I wanted to do when I was 15.

4. Sotiris

Sotiris Guest

Damn right Admiral!

Hi there, welcome aboard. Playing sports is good but make sure you're getting in a lot of circuit training. Totally different kind of fitness. Look at British Military Fitness and they may give you a little taster.

Good luck.

5. shady

shady Veteran Contributor

Your from belfast what part?

6. AndyNI

Well not really Belfast but the outskirts of it in a small town

7. AndyNI

Does anyone reckon it would be beneficial for me to get a degree?, I mean I could but I really honestly want to sign up and do something with myself.

8. AndyNI

Thanks this sites great but im already pretty tuned in with my fitness etc because i do PE for GCSE and regularly get A*:toung: