Applying for RMR when I'm moving in August

davvowavvo

Reaction score
Afternoon,

I'm in my last year of university and will be moving to London August/September - so the plan is to end up with RMR London but unfortunately I'm not going to be there for a few months.

Was hoping someone could give me a hand with a couple of questions. Has anyone got experience of someone applying for RMR with the knowledge that they'll soon be moving to the other side of the country? - its an annoying complication! Also any ideas when RMR London does its PRMC (R) and when it starts its holding troops for them? In an ideal world I'd be able to join a holding troop at London August/September and work towards the next PRMC from them on. I realise its unlikely that the timings will line up like that but thought it was worth a shot to see if anyone's got an idea of the dates?

Cheers in advance, really appreciated,
Dave

posh_punter

Royal Marines Commando
Reaction score
One intake a year currently at RMR London. Training for the next troop starts in August of this year. Holding troop for the next troop (starting training August 2019) starts about November and you'll need to have done PRMC by June 2019 to get in that troop. Hope that makes sense.

I'd recommend starting your application asap, as it can take much longer to get through the medical than you might expect.

davvowavvo

Reaction score
One intake a year currently at RMR London. Training for the next troop starts in August of this year. Holding troop for the next troop (starting training August 2019) starts about November and you'll need to have done PRMC by June 2019 to get in that troop. Hope that makes sense.

I'd recommend starting your application asap, as it can take much longer to get through the medical than you might expect.

Hi, thanks for your reply. Sounds like the earliest chance is November 2018 holding troop - I assume training for that troop starts August 2019?