Best way to get Marine Fit...

RossRobObey

Veteran Contributor
Reaction score
Right,

Danny and I are having a discussion/argument. He is going to be paying to use the gym equipment, when I said to him that everything he needs is at home. The only tool he needs for getting Marine fit is his body weight. Using any weights etc, is only going to build up excess muscle, which will be a hinder more than a help.

He says that if you use gym equipment, you are going to get much fitter, much faster.

So what do you lot think?

Pay to use the gym, or do it all at home?

(I'm not talking about using the gym treadmill because it's raining, either)

TheBaker

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Do it at home.

My background is weightlifting but i've pretty much stopped doing it in favour of the bodyweight exercises.

proudtobebritish

Venerated Contributor
Reaction score
all im saying is i only pay £2.50 to get in the gym for an hour and a half and the equipment increases your strenth faster, i dont care what anyone thinks *text deleted* thats my oppinion *text deleted* and gym does increase your strength faster.

For example I could only do 10 press ups at the start of the year, went to the gym for 2 months and can do 55-60 normal press ups and 35 marine press ups,

(signature isnt correct, i messed it up, need to change it)

M

MTW

gym is good for explosive strength, but not endurance...or core strength...or balance...etc etc the list goes on....

Touchstone

Veteran Contributor
Reaction score
I agree with Max.

I had been weightlifting for a year before I started training for the marines, and it didn't help my press ups one bit. You can do more press ups by doing more press ups!

Weightlifting requires short bursts of effort with heavy weights, while the other training is low weight and high repetition for endurance. However I see no reason while you cannot do both.