Calories

Cuzza22297

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Ok so I'm quite a skinny guy and although I'm over the 65kg (73kg) I'll need to bulk up abit if I want to achieve high scores on the gym tests.

As i'm training hard and have always had a high metabolic rate I've used a calculator to work out I need to be consuming around 3,800 calories a day to put on weight. I have some mass gainer which is 500kcal per shake although even with 3 shakes a day and my meals that's only hitting around 3,000. I'm also a student so I can't really afford to be buying food for 4 meals a day.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Hubb97

Veteran Contributor
Reaction score
How tall are you out of curiosity? Since you're comfortably over the limit, not sure how bulking up would help? The gym tests are all about muscular endurance and packing on loads of muscle may Improve your bench press 1rm but not necessarily your press ups/pull ups, if anything make them harder as you'd be heavier, as well as slowing your bft time down! I'm not an expert but unless you're very tall 73kg seems like a solid weight to be!

Cuzza22297

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
I'm 6'3", I definitely feel like a bit more muscle would help me. Although I do get what you're saying, past a point it would start to slow my running.

Nod1201

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Im 70kg ish depending on the day 5"10 and my muscular endurance on the gym tests seem to be improving with consistent training.

Chelonian

Reaction score

A few thoughts to consider:

Focus your training on the specific requirements of PRMC.
As far as I understand you won't be required at any point to bench-press. Nor will anyone evaluate your body shape—assuming you exceed the minimum body weight criterion—so aesthetics don't matter.