Dismiss Notice
'Users of this forum are reminded they should not discuss performance of individual attendees at PRMC or in Recruit Training for PERsonal SECurity and in observance of Diversity & Inclusion legislation'.

Can you join as an officer without A-levels

Discussion in 'RM Officer questions' started by Groundgame12, Mar 30, 2018.

1. Groundgame12

Groundgame12 New Member

App Stage:
    Not Applied Yet
    Hi all,
    I am 16 years old and I think a Career in the Royal Marines is definitely one I would like to peruse, and therefore think joining as an officer would be in my best interests.

However, after GCSE’s, A-levels were not my thing and instead I am studying Civil Engineering at a Technical College. I understand that the 72 UCAS points required to join as an officer can be obtained from different qualifications other than A-levels.

However my question was more to do with training and selection itself. If you have the minimum required grades to join as an officer, will this effect your chance at selection when compared to other recruits with diplomas etc? Or are you just as eligible for training as the other recruits who went to uni etc as long you have the required minimum grades?

Also, when in training, is it competitive, and the people who are at the bottom of the pile sent home even if they meet the standards required? Or is it more along the lines of: as long as you meet the set requirements then you are able to stay?

Thanks
    PS. Sorry the title was a bit misleading but didnt know how to word my question.

• Seen Seen x 1
  2. Bellionaire679

Bellionaire679 Member

I’ve wondered this too.

I only have 48 UCAS points but I found a way into uni. If I wanted to be an officer by the time I finish uni and have a degree. Would the service look at my degree over my a levels?

3. sbradb

sbradb Member

App Stage:
    Passed PJFT