changing application...probably one for ninja

Leedham

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Posts
146
Reaction score
0
alrite fellas, currently got an application for the RAF reg going through and just passed the RAF AST. Why i applied to the RAF reg instead of Marines in the first place is a long story!! but ive realised it was a very bad decision.

...Anyways was wondering if the AFCO would let me change my application from the RAF to the Marines? or would i have to cancel the RAF app and start all over again with a Marines app?
 

Richard

Valuable Contributor
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Posts
236
Reaction score
0
Im not 100% sure you will have to double check but i think you may be ok but your Careers advisor for the Navy will have to do the swap for you.
Correct me if im wrong Ninja.
 

MrSkippy

Venerated Contributor
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Posts
874
Reaction score
0
I would have imagined a new application would have to be put through the navy - as the navy recruiters would want to go through the process of selecting the candidate themselves?
 

Ninja_Stoker

Admin
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Posts
35,504
Reaction score
17,998
I would have imagined a new application would have to be put through the navy - as the navy recruiters would want to go through the process of selecting the candidate themselves?

Correct the selection procedure for RAF differs so you would need to submit a fresh application form to join the Royal Marines. Certain elements such as Security Clearance & Medical can, in some instances be transferred, but you will need to sit the Navy Recruitring Test, Selection Interview, PJFT & PRMC for certain & you would need to produce all original documentation & new references would be required.
 

Leedham

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Posts
146
Reaction score
0
cheers for the reply, bit of a ball ace but i guess ill phone up after dinner and cancell my RAF app

big problem in the fact that i lost my NI number card on the way back from the AFCO last time tho *text deleted* hopefully can get a new one very soon!
 

Chicogiz

Veteran Contributor
Joined
Jun 15, 2007
Posts
709
Reaction score
0
cheers for the reply, bit of a ball ace but i guess ill phone up after dinner and cancell my RAF app

big problem in the fact that i lost my NI number card on the way back from the AFCO last time tho *text deleted* hopefully can get a new one very soon!

Haha i lost my NI card to. I will find it, just i was writeing a part time application and i was useing it and cant remember where i put it, not good *text deleted*.
 

Matt B

Royal Marines Commando
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
Posts
1,129
Reaction score
2
cheers for the reply, bit of a ball ace but i guess ill phone up after dinner and cancell my RAF app

big problem in the fact that i lost my NI number card on the way back from the AFCO last time tho *text deleted* hopefully can get a new one very soon!

I haven't had my NI card for about 5 years but I managed to join the army without it, and I have my PRMC in Jan!

You can just provide a payslip or something.
 

Callum

Valuable Contributor
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Posts
338
Reaction score
3
I had 3 going at once when I first applied, as I wasn't 100% sure and what I wanted. Marines, RafReg and Parachute regiment...

It wasn't a problem at all, just cancel the rafreg applications and start over?
 

Leedham

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Posts
146
Reaction score
0
I haven't had my NI card for about 5 years but I managed to join the army without it, and I have my PRMC in Jan!

You can just provide a payslip or something.

*text deleted* sadly ive never had a payslip in my life, just get cash in hand...i only need the card because they ask for a photocopy of it. I think i know the number
 

Iles

Active Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Posts
68
Reaction score
0
I thought I lost mine a little ehile ago (found it again in the end *text deleted*) but apparently they will only ever issue you two in a lifetime, but they will send you a letter out with your national Insurance number on it.
 
Top