Climbing Mont Blanc

ERFC

Royal Marines Commando
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've just got a quick question, has anyone summited Mont Blanc before as I'm hopefully going to be attempting it in August. I'm a complete novice at climbing however you do get 4 days training prior to the attempt and you are quickly taught ice climbing techniques as well as crampon, ice axe use etc.

I was just wondering if there were any avid climbers out there who could give me any tips on extra equipment that they found useful etc just as I know it's going to be a challenging ascent and I want to give myself the best chance at reaching the top. The guides are very knowledgable and they have provided kit lists etc but it's always useful to hear what other people may suggest to take which they found useful.

Many thanks,
ECRFC

CSVern

Veteran Contributor
Reaction score
The guides are top notch over in Cham so if they've given you a kit list, you won't need much else. It'll get you up and down, most else is personal preference.
If they're not on the list, you'll want to take ear plugs for sure. I guess you'll be in one of the refuges and sharing a room with 20 snoring Germans isn't the best of times when getting you're getting up at 3am :)

I haven't seen your kit list so don't know what else I could add. Wet wipes if you want a man wash. Sewing kit, if you haven't used crampons before you'll most likely catch them on your trousers a couple times. If the guide doesn't need you to wear a helmet, take a sun cap as well as sunglasses and sun cream.
If you take chocolate as a snack, keep it in a jacket pocket. Found my mars bar had frozen solid and was a bugger to eat after being in my bag.
I'm sure there are other things, I'll make a note and if I think of anything else I'll PM you.

Last edited:

Mr D

Venerated Contributor
Reaction score
@Chelonian , this could be the man your looking for,think he's a climber. he 'll find you soon.

ERFC

Royal Marines Commando
Reaction score