Could use some reassurance about A-Levels.

Rec0rd

Reaction score
I'm in final year of sixth form, with only 3 to 4 months to endure before I finish.

I've never been an academic person, but worked my socks off to gain 8 GCSE's at grade C including Maths and English. This required hours of 1 to 1 private tuition every week.

I also have a BTEC in Aviation studies worth 2 GCSE's and a BTEC in Public Services worth 4. This was gained through cadets.

Following the success of my GCSE results I decided to take 3 A-Levels in English Literature, English Language & Applied Science. After my first year I gained a grade E in both English subjects and a D in Applied Science. I underestimated how hard A-Levels were.

I was allowed to drop English Lit, leaving me with 2 subjects at A-Levels. I'm currently at a grade U in both subjects.

Despite this, dropping out if the last thing on my mind, but it's frustrating to focus your mind on subjects that you have absolutely no interest in whatsoever. The coursework is rock solid and I doubt it's impossible to achieve anything higher than an E, in only two subjects.

I'm not going for Officer.

Having been a member of cadets for 5 years and achieving a huge amount, and also having a part time job making sure that a local high school is locked and secure on weekends when we have weekend actives on, how will my A-Level grades effect my interview?

Cheers lads.

Geordie_Kev

Reaction score
I believe some people are born better at some things than others. You get people who are better athletes, others who are more academic (certainly not myself) and the lucky ones that have the best of both worlds.
If you put 110% in to everything you do and can prove this during your interview then you have nothing to worry about.

Jbc

Royal Marines Commando -Moderator
Reaction score
You don't need any formal qualifications to join as an 'other rank'. I got expelled from school and dropped out of college with 1 a-level. It's really not an issue!

Anon.