Fitness Standards

Discussion in 'General Royal Marines Joining Chit Chat' started by Georgio, Dec 3, 2018.

1. Georgio

Georgio New Member

App Stage:
    Not Applied Yet
    So I've been training for a few months now and my current stats are:

Press ups: 40
    Sit ups: 75
    Pull ups: 5
    2.4k return: 9:30
    Bleep test: 9.7

Just wondering if anyone would recommend putting my application in at this stage? Or should I try to improve my fitness further before going for it?

Cheers

2. Corona

Corona New Member

App Stage:
    Not Applied Yet
    Using this page: https://www.royalnavy.mod.uk/career...ges-and-standards/royal-marines-commando/prmc
    At the minute only your sit ups surpass the satisfactory levels (a strong 2.4k return time though), with the bleep test being below minimum and the pull ups being only just past the minimum. If it were down to me I would keep training a little more to get everything up to the satisfactory level+.
    This doesn't mean don't put your application though as what I've gathered on here is between actually giving in the application and the PRMC there can be quite a lot of time which you can use to increase your fitness standards.

• Like Like x 3
  3. Surfbum

Surfbum Member

App Stage:
    Passed Medical
    My opinion is, get it in mate. As mentioned above, there are a lot of variables that will increase the time an application can take. You also have the option of putting the breaks on at certain points so I would suggest putting it in mate! You may find yourself training harder as you can actually see the ball rolling. Worked for me at least.

• Like Like x 4
    • Gen Dit Gen Dit x 1
    • Seen Seen x 1
  4. arny01

arny01 Ex Pongo.

You are ready to apply! Your VO2 needs work, and your pull-ups and press-ups need to increase a bit too, but you are certainly ready to apply. As long as you continue to improve and keep working hard.

• Like Like x 2
  5. MORP

MORP Member

App Stage:
    Passed Interview