Have a degree, but not joining as an officer?

d2789

Reaction score
I'm in my last year at uni now, doing speech and language sciences (basically a communications degree with a bit of science thrown in) and I am going to apply as soon as I hand in my final assignment. However, any time I tell people that i'm not joining as an officer they tell me I am wasting my degree. The thing is, I am a confident lad but also think its important to be honest about your abilities and I do not believe that i'm mature enough or have the right characteristics to be an officer, so it doesn't interest me. Am I wasting my degree, or does having a degree as a commando help too?
any advice would be great, cheers

Rob20

Royal Marines Commando Moderator
Reaction score
Mate most blokes in the Corps are qualified to be officers. It doesn't mean anything. Just because lads have a degree doesn't mean they're automatically suited to be an officer. If you want to be one of the lads, crack on. It's no lesser an achievement.

I got told the same thing by my HR rep when leaving my old firm, funny old thing the old boy had zero military experience. Do what you want.

ThreadpigeonsAlpha

Royal Marines Commando
Reaction score
I'm in my last year at uni now, doing speech and language sciences (basically a communications degree with a bit of science thrown in) and I am going to apply as soon as I hand in my final assignment. However, any time I tell people that i'm not joining as an officer they tell me I am wasting my degree. The thing is, I am a confident lad but also think its important to be honest about your abilities and I do not believe that i'm mature enough or have the right characteristics to be an officer, so it doesn't interest me. Am I wasting my degree, or does having a degree as a commando help too?
any advice would be great, cheers
You aren’t wasting your degree at all.

Yea, you have the qualifications to join as an officer, but if it’s not what you want, then you don’t have to.