Headaches during and after hard running

Cuzza22297

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
I've been training hard for a few months now, however due to an injury I took a month or so off running. Having started up again a few weeks ago with slower longer runs on Saturday I completed a 5km park run. During the run I developed quite a painful headache at the top of my head which persisted for about an hour after I had finished before gradually becoming less painful until I no longer felt it. I put it down to the cold and didn't think too much of it.

Today, I did a mock PJFT, the first run I felt fine (if slightly more fatigued than usual) however a few minutes into the return the headache came back and was quite painful, I pushed on and finished the run but I can still feel it a bit even now, same place in the head as the headache on Saturday and clearly not the cold as I was running in a gym.

I have no history of migraines, drink a lot of water and eat well (although on both days had only had a satchet of porridge before the sessions) and am otherwise in good health and this is the first time I've ever had headaches from exercise.

Has anyone else had similar problems/have an idea as to what it could be? I rang up 111 and they said to go to my doctors if it persists although as I'm nearly clear from my TMU i'm pretty reluctant to give capita an excuse to fail me for a second time.

Thanks in advance

Caversham

RM Commando, Crossed The Bar 13/12/2020
Reaction score
I'm not a medic, so this is just an opinion.

When you're running your heartbeat increases and at the same time your arteries dilate in order to accommodate the increased blood flow. If the arteries do not dilate as much as they should then I would imagine that the increased pressure in your arteries, particularly those around the brain, would cause discomfort/headache.

In all probability this is a load of borrocks, but if you are in doubt then get it checked out.