help plz....

rm1664

Reaction score
i just wondered if anyone as got any advice on ways to improve my pull ups i can barely do 1

but press ups,sit ups,running anything like that im fine just pull ups i struggle on

would appreciate any advice

thanks

D

Deleted

Do some reverses (I'm not sure what they are called). Hold yourself up, then lower yourself slowly. Keep doing this and you'll be able to do pull-ups in no time, I think they are the easiest to get better at too.

Paul-M

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Yeh I'd say the same, even better get someone to lift you first because then you can do loads, and will build up your pullup number quicker.

Snell79

Reaction score
You need to improve your upper body strength quite a bit! Don't want to scare you but i've been lifting weights for nearly 2 years, i couldn't really do any pull ups can do about 7 now after 2 years! There will be quicker ways of improving your upper body strength maybe one pf the other lads can help? I'm sure the prmc booklet has info in about improving your strength when you visit your afco.

Chris

lukey boy 91

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
elo mate, i had that problem to and its nothing to worry about , all you haved to do is keep doin them! and dont give up and they will get better.

i could only do 1 a few months ago and now i can do 10 and there getting better just keep them up *text deleted* and make sure you keep your legs straight, pull ups are mainly your back muscles doing the work

TheBaker

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Do some reverses (I'm not sure what they are called). Hold yourself up, then lower yourself slowly. Keep doing this and you'll be able to do pull-ups in no time, I think they are the easiest to get better at too.

Yeah they're called negatives.

Also if your pull up bar is on your door or something, when you manage to do atleast one, everytime you go past it, do 1.