Injured my Arm at Work

Discussion in 'Common Training Injuries' started by DBenn01, Nov 16, 2016.

1. DBenn01

DBenn01 Active Member

App Stage:
    Not Applied Yet
    How is everyone, hopefully all is well!

Just back from half a days landscaping work after doing something to my right arms elbow joint/bicep tendon, nothing extreme, nothing hospital worthy thankfully, just pain in that area and the brachialis and pronator teres.

The nature of the work is heavy lifting, carrying loads of soil, rocks and bricks up hills in wheel barrows, digging, etc. etc. (You can see why it appeals to me, it'll help me train). I can still work and keep going but I was sent home for fear I worsen it. Not too impressed with myself to be honest, don't want to stop.

Anyway, I am wondering, has anyone got any good stretching exercises or advice so I can get back in asap? Thanks so much in advance.

2. CSVern

CSVern Active Member

Disclaimer: I'm not a doctor, just someone who's had my fair share of injuries.

If it's not a bad injury and just tweaking when you use it, it could just be mild tendonitis in the elbow. Would make sense if you're carrying heavy loads.
    Stretching won't help that, you just have to rest it properly until it heals. It's one of those things that doesn't seem major but if not taken care of properly can lead to something worse/permanent.

• Like Like x 1
  3. DBenn01

DBenn01 Active Member

App Stage:
    Not Applied Yet
    Thank you so much for that, they said the same thing to me. I really didn't want to go home but they didn't want me to make it worse. Its easing up now, but ill see how it is tomorrow.

4. john lewis

john lewis Well-Known Member

App Stage:
    Passed Interview
    Stretching will help tendinitis! Rest it to start with and do light stretching of the forearm and biceps then when the inflammation has gone single arm exercises will help to strengthen the tendon

5. DBenn01

DBenn01 Active Member

App Stage:
    Not Applied Yet