Dismiss Notice
'Users of this forum are reminded they should not discuss performance of individual attendees at PRMC or in Recruit Training for PERsonal SECurity and in observance of Diversity & Inclusion legislation'.

Intro - Hopeful Drifter

Discussion in 'Introductions & Welcome to the Royal Marines Site' started by CassNewman, Apr 20, 2019.

1. CassNewman

CassNewman New Member

App Stage:
    Not Applied Yet
    Alright everyone. I'm Cass. 19 years old and I've been interested in the commandos all my life. I've been doing the whole 'should I shouldn't I' dance for the 3 or 4 years now but I'm finally going to go through with it.

My family were very keen for me to follow in my Dad's footsteps so they didn't like the idea of me serving. They said that I'd be wasting my intelligence if I became "cannon fodder". They think infantry folk are dumb and join because they can't find work elsewhere. I think you lot are a very respectable bunch though. A lot more respectable than the guys I've come across in my industry.

So I stupidly made what I though was a grown-up decision and forgot about my dreams of serving and got myself an office job with free coffee and a comfy chair. Basically general admin for a used car wholesaler, and running my own online business. My family are very happy with this but I am not.

The 'office worker attitude' really disagrees with me. I got told off by my boss for 'doing my job too well' when I started because I was making him look bad and I assume he felt threatened. I quickly got used to keeping my head down and collecting my paycheck but nothing more. No excitement, no team spirit, not doing anything that important. I know my team would sell me out in a day for a 20p raise. Thinking about being sat in that box for the next 50 years then checking out after not doing anything with my life scares me more than any battlefield could.