Introduction

AndyAndy94

Reaction score
Hi guys,

A quick introduction from myself. I'm a 23 year old graduate from the South West. I am awaiting the FSB decision after a pass at POC and AIB, and hoping to be on the 2018 batch.

Currently also booking in interviews with Army Infantry regiments as a backup. (AOSB pass also).

Cheers!

Ninja_Stoker

Admin
Reaction score
Welcome to the site, fingers-crossed you'll make the cut for the Royal Marines.

As you may already be aware, it is fairly common practice for RM Officer applicants to run a dual application.

For as long as the Corps does not allocate entry dates on a first past the post basis, it remains a thorughly logical avenue. Snag is, from a recruiting perspective, if you pass POC and AIB, you are technically good enough to join but I suspect we may lose viable applicants because the AOSB offers a place at the point of passing.

AndyAndy94

Reaction score
Thanks Ninja.

Hopefully I won't need any plan B's but we'll see. The tough decision would be whether or not to stick it out for another year and try again, going through POC & AIB potentially not to make the grade again.

At this point, very much bored of the civvie time filler job, I'm inclined to say I'd choose Sandhurst over another year of uncertainty.

Chelonian

Reaction score
...I'm inclined to say I'd choose Sandhurst over another year of uncertainty.

A pragmatic approach would be the sensible way to go. If you need to deploy plan B any thoughts about Army regiments?

AndyAndy94

Reaction score
A pragmatic approach would be the sensible way to go. If you need to deploy plan B any thoughts about Army regiments?

I'm not certain on exact regiments yet, but definitely keen on infantry. I've got some visits lined up with The Rifles and The Yorkshire Regiment. I may well try to visit some armoured infantry if the chance arises also.

Bellionaire679

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score