Irish in the Marines....

himself

Reaction score
hows things folks.... first post of many (i hope) so a little bit about me first i guess...

Im grand aul age of 27... im a graphic designer by trade and god willing im giving it all up to join the royals... ive 8 years in the Irish Reserve Defence Force at the rank of corpral these last 3 years... its through this that ive got my fix of all thing military and alas ive finaly given in to the conclusion that id sooner fight terrorist organizations than deal with clients.. deadlines and the hours infront of a computer!!

Now history n all means that joining the British Navy or Army isnt exactly a popular choice for most Irish men (lets just say that i wont be telling those outside of family or friends) but to honest the only other choice was the French foreign legion and after a few books looking into that i came to my senses!! (to the relief of many)

Ive decided i want to be a "professional soldier". As much as i love it the Irish Army it doesn't offer me the same opportunities... ill always consider myself an Irish Soldier.. ill just be employed by a different company!

anyways... seeing as the few Irish mostly serve in the Irish Regiments of the Army have any of you guys come across any Irish in the Royal Marines?? (by that im mostly talking about the Republic of Ireland)

GreyWing

Nobody
Reaction score
Hi Mate and welcome to the site,

Don't worry about the age thing mate, there are plenty of people that join the Marines in there late 20's and you probably won't be the oldest on your course.

Yep there are plenty of guys from the republic in the UK armed forces and like yourself they take a bit of a precaution with regards who they tell.