Leadership experience

Discussion in 'POC Section' started by donko733, Nov 5, 2018.

1. donko733

donko733 New Member

App Stage:
    Passed Recruiting Test
    Hello all,

Plainly put, I have essentially no leadership experience outside being a leader of a prefect team during secondary school. I'm in my third year of university and have applied for the 2019 officer intake. I had intended to go and work in something completely different before deciding about a month ago that I couldn't work that kind of job and needed something like the Royal Marines. Am I dreaming if I think that this is worth a shot with such little to show my potential? Would it be recommended for me to take a year to gain leadership experience, or would squeezing in sufficient experience quickly before interviews be possible?

I have been eagerly spending almost all of my free time over the past two weeks researching, and my confidence took a tumble today when I came to read what people have said about the AIB interview.

Thank you

2. cc1

cc1 (former RM)

I suppose a question I can extrapolate from what you've said already is: What have you done that makes you think you're a leader and have the right leadership qualities?

Answering this should lead you towards examples of leadership you can already demonstrate and expand upon. If not then there's plenty you can do, but you'll be hard pressed to cram that into such a tight time window.

Your 3rd year of university doesn't end until summer next year so now would be the perfect time to plan an expedition or similar that can openly demonstrate teamwork, planning, communication and coordination of multiple assets towards a singular objective.

3. donko733

donko733 New Member

App Stage:
    Passed Recruiting Test
    It's something I'm not sure about. I'm physically fit and have usually been the most intelligent of my peers for most of my life and even now at university - it's the leadership qualities which I'm not sure of.