Dismiss Notice
'Users of this forum are reminded they should not discuss performance of individual attendees at PRMC or in Recruit Training for PERsonal SECurity and in observance of Diversity & Inclusion legislation'.

Leadership Skills

Discussion in 'POC Section' started by tdudley, Apr 18, 2008.

1. tdudley

tdudley New Member

Improving Leadership

Hi,

I've been looking at the forums for a couple of months now and researching various bits and pieces and am considering the marines as an officer after university at some point. I'm currently in my first year and the only society I'm in is the climbing club and I'd like to join a few others (probably next year). In mind I have: OTC (Officers Training Corps), Duke of Edinburgh Gold scheme, Rowing Running (I know the OTC is army but I think it'll do me good, and probably will be doing DoE. I might also do some volunteer work somehow).

Anyways, I'm probably not the most confident of people and would like to know how to improve leadership potential, I feel out of the societies listed above OTC would probably be best. Any recommendations?

2. Duffy1

Duffy1 New Member

Hey mate,

i've been in London OTC for 2 years and without doubt it has been the best part of uni. I would recommend it 100%, t will certainly give you leadership experience. The 1st yr is basic stuff like weapons handling, fieldcraft etc. and then in the 2nd yr you are given command apointments on the training exercises. This yr i've had crack at doing everyting at 1 stage or another, section commander, platoon sargent and platoon commander etc. The other stuff sounds li it cud b useful as well but get involved with *text deleted* OTC.

3. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker Admin

Eloquently put Duffy, clearly you have benefited & I'd certainly go along with the OTC idea.