Life Experience

chrystal19

Reaction score
Could someone please give me an example of how they gained some life experience? I would like to do the Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award but I don't have a year to spare.

Would doing the bronze be useful?

I was also thinking about voluntary work, perhaps at a local charity store. Anyone know of a situation where I could do some work that will give me leadership exp.?

Thanks

Priar

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Could someone please give me an example of how they gained some life experience?
I raised 3000 pounds for charity trekking to Everest base camp. The life experience came from seeing how other people live, seeing another part of the world, freezing my bollocks off!
I built my dads house for him.
I worked as a bar manager throughout uni and saw the nicest and nastiest parts of human nature... The things doormen do are slightly disturbing.
Do some charity/volunteer work.

Anyone know of a situation where I could do some work that will give me leadership exp.?
Not really if you intend to go into RT soon. But if you had a little longer, any form of managerial job will get you leadership experience. You could also join a sports team and try and become captain.
If you currently have a job why not organise a team building weekend? This would show your organisation skills and you'll be in charge.

chrystal19

Reaction score
Well I do charity runs, and fund raise. I could look into doing something a bit more adventurous like yourself.

Voluntary work will be easy to find where I live, Theres a highstreet with 12 charity shops on alone.

I once helped teach ICT lessons to year 7 students in college, trying to motivate a kid who didn't see the positive side of an education.

It just all needs bulking up a bit if im to go for a officer role.

S

Sotiris

Sure DofE bronze would do you good. Not necessarily the expedition but the service. I was in charge of a scouts group and got my advanced sailing certificate in that time.