Losing weight

keir8

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Just a quick question does anyone know roughly how long it would take to lose 2 stone ?

MacheteMeetsBiscuit

Venerated Contributor
Reaction score
Depends entirely on your current height, weight, age, activity level, the type of diet you want to follow etc.

The recommended 'safe' amount is 2lbs a week, which is 14 weeks for 2 stone. If you eat regularly and get enough rest though, I reckon it'd be safe to lose 3lbs a week which would shorten this time considerably.

Luke2504

Veteran Contributor
Reaction score
It really does depend on the person and how much work gets put in. I can't say how long it'd take you to lose the weight if I did know as I'm no expert but my advice would be to calculate how many calories you'd need to consume per day for your size and activity and take 200 - 400 calories off that. Make sure you eat a balanced diet and no more maccy Ds. Also eat the food in small meals throughout the day, it'll increase your metabolism.

And ofcourse there's the cardio which isn't rocket science, just get out on the road and run.

All the best with losing weight. :blink1:

S

stokey_14

As said no set answer. Frankly it all depends on your diet, exercise does help but its only a small help compared to diet.

For weight loss with out to much loss in performance, personally I don?t think you can beat carb cycling (Google it) however Keto dieting also gets a very good rep in bodybuilding circles but often the supper low carbs might not work for someone with more endurance based training.

I?ve personally lost 9.8 Kg since January 6th with a low carb diet, all my lifts and fitness are also up since then.

Stokey

keir8

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Cheers guys diet is one said I struggle on I snack an drink loads of fuzzy pop an have one meal a day I'm changing that to water to drink 3 square meals an snack on fruit instead thanks for your replies

S

stokey_14