Minimum fitness standards before RT

ODB

Reaction score
As the title says, what would you guys say are some minimum targets one should set for RT? e.g. run times pressups etc.

Kaisamson

Reaction score
Max or pretty close on the 3 bodyweight tests, 13 bleep test and sub 9 minute 1.5 return in my opinion - as a lot of people say and from my very limited experience, even the phys ninjas will be absolutely hanging during the gym sessions, nothing can prepare you for back to back camp circuits -vomit-

Reactions: ODB

ODB

Reaction score
Sweet mate. Do you think it's worth yomping at all?

Kaisamson

Reaction score
I see a lot of people say no as the TT will build you up with the yomping, potentially just asking for injury doing it yourself

Tetley

Reaction score
I'm not an expert but have been reading a lot on the forum as my son is in the application process preparing for vPJFT so here is a brief summary of things to consider and think about for RT
Good luck

Royal2010

Commando Training Wing & Drill Instructor
Reaction score
As the title says, what would you guys say are some minimum targets one should set for RT? e.g. run times pressups etc.
You will aim to max out on EVERYTHING. That will be your personal minimum requirement.
A constant theme throughout training is giving 100%. Not 98% not 99% everything, so get the thoughts of minimum out of your mind.
If you're not giving your best then you're not going hard enough. We don't pass people who aim just to scrape by scrape minimum standard.
It's all mindset. Start working on it.

Caversham

Former RM Commando, Moderator
Reaction score
And learn the basics of map reading.

Alan

ODB

Reaction score
Thanks guys.

You will aim to max out on EVERYTHING. That will be your personal minimum requirement.
A constant theme throughout training is giving 100%. Not 98% not 99% everything, so get the thoughts of minimum out of your mind.