Muscle gain pre-prmc

03hlevitt

Reaction score
Hi all,

Although this could fit in the POC thread I feel as if it is more of a general set of q's that could also apply to the prmc so have posted this thread accordingly.

I made a post on here a while ago. I am currently in my last year of uni and training with British triathlon. Since there is (realistically) no money in triathlon I have decided to go for another career path instead (after a large amount of thought and consideration) and, so, last week, I submitted my application to become a royal marines officer. I chatted to the recruiter on the phone and this helped me as it further emphasized how difficult to make the batch to become an officer in the marines and that attention to every single detail was key in the application process.

Whilst training for elite level triathlon, strength and muscular condition is included in our training but it is often neglected (particularly in my case) somewhat. I expressed my concern to the recruiter that despite my calisthenic fitness not being awful, my skinny frame (11 stone at 5 foot 11) was worrying my as i thought it would hold my back when it came to the weight bearing exercises that the application process entails. Should I be worried about putting on a few pounds?

Moreover, I would like to start training slightly away from triathlon and more towards the royal marines application process and although the two compliment each other massively (I can run 3 miles in 15 minutes flat) there are some issues. Firstly, our S + C sessions are only twice a week and one hour long, this might sound ok but since we train 30 hours a week on the three disciplines I doubt it is having that much affect. I was thinking that maybey cutting out some of the cycling, and possibly running and replacing this with gym sessions either focused on bodyweight or lifting exercises. Does this sound like the advisable thing to do?