My decision

Mikey

Reaction score
Well, I've been lurking for a bit here and doing plenty of reading around the subject and I've come to the decision that I will not be making an application to join up. There are several reasons for this, but the primary one is that I'll believe it to be a waste of the RN/RM's time and resources as it's highly unlikely that I'll pass the medical and security checks. I'll spare you the details, but I can tell you that I've had to declare bankruptcy and that I did suffer from depression in the past. It's my understanding that those two alone will disqualify me from joining.

I am disappointed as I have been working towards joining the armed forces since I was in the army cadets and my choice of A Levels where I studied Geography, History, Computing and Government and Politics specifically so I could try for a commission and become an officer in the Royal Marines. I guess some things weren't to be and so I will just have to excel in whatever I end up doing on civvy street.

I sincerely believe that we live in the greatest nation in the world and that it is the armed forces that helps to maintain its greatness. Though I might not be able to join, I will try my best to support the Royal Marines and the rest of the Armed Forces and show each and every person who has served the respect and gratitude they sorely deserve. It is the very least I can do.

These forums are an excellent resource - thank you very much :)

Ty

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
They will not let you join due to bad credit ?. Thats kinda stupid *text deleted*.

GreyWing

Nobody
Reaction score
Hi Mikey,