My story

spiderman

Reaction score
HI everyone. I dont know if anyone remebers me but I was on this site a while back and have just come back. Well heres my story. After thinking a lot I decided to join The Rifles in the British Army. I started training, getting quite fit. Passed all the tests and then the medical questionnaire came up and the army docs decided to medically defer me for having a history of perthes disease. So instead of stuffing my dream I went and got X-rays, letters from consultants etc to prove I dont have the disease any longer. Three months later or longer later I got my selection date for the 8 august. Went there with bad tonsilitis could barely speak *text deleted*. They didn't notice that in the medical which is very thorough but they found a heart murmur and high blood pressure so i was defered once more. Since then have had heart scans etc and i do not have a heart murmur it was innocent and my GP said i have perfectly normal blood pressure however the army want to see 24 hour blood pressure monitoring which I finnaly have a hospital appointment for next week i have been in the application proccess for nearly nine months now. Lately I have just sat on my bum doing no exercise and eating due to all these setbacks leaving me with no motivation however even though this site is for potential marines it has given me loads of motivation today to get me back in training and carry on my dream. Thanks guys thou
ght I'd share my story cheers. Great site as always.
WEbby

GreyWing

Nobody
Reaction score
Hi Mate,

Good to hear you haven't given up. Whilst you are right the site is aimed at those wanting to join the Royal Marines, it's open and welcoming to anyone interested in any of the armed forces.

Unfortunately medicals are one of those things you have little control over, but don't give in mate you'll come through it.

Ninja_Stoker

Admin
Reaction score
As GW says, the very best of luck to you.