Officer Recruiting Test score: Is it justified?

JBloor

Reaction score
Alright guys, I'm a Navy Officer applicant and have just come across this forum. I passed my AIB a couple of months ago and I just wanted to let any potential RM Officers know that the psychometric test you take during AIB are a COMPLETELY different/format to those taken during the initial RT. On AIB they are the same as any other psychometric test for a graduate scheme which, if you've been to/are at uni, your university careers office has many exams of and will probably do mock tests.

I've read a few of the previous comments on this thread regarding the recent increase in the pass mark of the RT, the justification for which some have stated is because the psychometric tests at AIB are harder so if you can't pass the RT at 80% you won't pass the AIB test. If this was correct then none of the candidates who sat their AIB before the increase RT pass mark would have pass AIB ? which they did. There were a few guys on my AIB who pass the RT to the old pass mark (including me) and passed AIB, in fact many of us agreed that we would never have made it to AIB if we had to pass the RT to around the 80% pass mark in all four sections. As I?ve already said the type of test sat at AIB are different, indeed there is no mechanical comprehension section. Of course the RT pass mark needs to be set so that it selects people who are able to do the job well. But the previous pass mark (around 66% I think) was used for many years and there are Officers in both the RN and RM today who achieved that mark on their RT and are now having prosperous careers.