Press ups - Too Much or Too Little?

Reaction score
Hi, I have my (second) PRMC in a week and the only element I am struggling with is press ups. I’m maxing our sit ups, 7-9 pull ups but when I did my first PRMC I only got 37. Since then I started training them extra hard, dedicating one whole session per week to press ups, and accessory exercises. For example:

Weighted: diamond press ups, shoulder with (RM style) and wide arm, all until failure with 30 seconds rest between sets. Then repeat three times dropping the weight down. After that, more inline, decline press-ups or Every Minute, on the Minute for 20 mins. After that, dips and incline bench chest press with light weights for high reps. Then flys on the cable machine and all sorts of delt work.

The next day, I do a similar style workout for pull ups, and I don’t touch any press up movements. The only problem is, when I next re-test my max effort press ups, they don’t seem to have come on at all!

Could this be because I haven’t let my muscles recover enough or is this just a rubbish workout? Any last minute tips for PRMC next week would be appreciated, many thanks!

(I also do runs/ sprints and circuit sessions, these are just two of my weekly workouts)

Chelonian

Reaction score
Any last minute tips for PRMC next week would be appreciated, many thanks!

Based upon your experience at your first PRMC are you confident that you can exceed the required standard for press-ups and other criteria tests?

Whatever training or rest regime you embark on between now and next week is unlikely to have a significant effect.

If you are not confident that you will pass PRMC consider having a conversation with your Careers Adviser tomorrow to discuss deferring your PRMC to a later date. This might involve pausing your application which will take the pressure off both you and your CA.

Reaction score