Protein shakes

Discussion in 'Training Methods and Diet Suggestions' started by ThomasWotsits, Oct 24, 2018.

1. ThomasWotsits

ThomasWotsits New Member

App Stage:
    TMU
    I know protein shakes are not allowed during RT. And know that i should not drink them a week before my medical, but should i still use them. I used optimum nutrition serious mass as it has lots of carbs and protein, I'm currently using it because its an easy way to get protein amd carbs after workouts. I would like to know if people used them before RT and if you use or used them after passing out?

2. allye

allye Member

App Stage:
    Passed PRMC
    I know a lot of people say you shouldn’t rely on them during your training but I’ve been using a mass gainer for 6 months to try and put on some weight. I have a very active job so with training it’s, as you said, a cheap and quick way to get the carbs and protein in.

I see no issue with it as in recruit training it’s basically replaced with 4 meals a day.

• Like Like x 1
  3. The Creature of the Night

The Creature of the Night Member

App Stage:
    TMU
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3198027/
    I would suggest you read some research into protein/ energy drinks..

Majority of them are just caffeine based drinks that interact with certain GABA receptors in the brain, however, the perceived boost is a placebo, mate. The very mention of an protein drink will be enough to create it.

I'd steer clear from them and allow the body to get fit on its own metabolism and its own energy, as opposed to ameliorating it with energy drinks. Remember; tiredness is a state of mind that one can overcome.

Best wishes
    The Creature of the Night.

• Like Like x 2
  4. allye

allye Member

App Stage:
    Passed PRMC