Sponsored Ad

Dismiss Notice
'Users of this forum are reminded they should not discuss performance of individual attendees at PRMC or in Recruit Training for PERsonal SECurity and in observance of Diversity & Inclusion legislation'.

Recovering from ITBS

Discussion in 'Common Training Injuries' started by mufc122, Apr 7, 2019.

1. mufc122

mufc122 New Member

App Stage:
    Passed Medical
    Hi all, was wondering what method people found to be the most successful for ridding ITBS, I’ve been training for around 7 months now and feel ready, can pass all the gym tests apart from running, I’ve had to put off a PRMC as my knee keeps flaring up pretty much when I start getting good return times on the 3 miler I’ve been running 3 times a week howeve have changed that to only once a week doing a mile run and I plan to slowly increase mileage, I’ve been to see a private physio who recommended I did strengthening exercises such as squats, leg raises, resistance band walks etc I’ve done these for about 3 months 4 times a day however it still seems to keep returning, I’m finding it really frustrating as it’s the only part of the training I can’t seem to get over, I’ve also changed shoes about 3 times and had my gait looked at as I tend to pronate slightly when running, any advice or stories of how people got over it is massively appreciated.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Wings

Wings Parachute Regiment

Its a hideous injury but unfortunately it isnt a quick fix mine lasted 7 months and on occasion when I run alone I will feel it sometimes. However I never do when tabbing. Not sure why. But my physio said exactly what yours said. May have take out running for something else

• Like Like x 1
  3. mufc122

mufc122 New Member

App Stage:
    Passed Medical
    Yeah It only seems to flare up doing high mileage runs rather than sprints, did it flare up for you at all while you were in training, if so how did you manage it? Cheers

4. Wings

Wings Parachute Regiment