RMR and university

mr.sniper

Reaction score
If I join the rmr while im at university will it interfere with my studies, im studying law which is quite diffucult?

Dodger

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
i am in exactly the same situation mate.
studying law, i am going for RMR, obviously cant tell you how i get on yet, but will keep you informed, it will be hard mate, time is scarse on a law course, but, if your determined enough to do it, I rekon it can be done.

I am on another site also and been advised by an RNR lad that he is in his second year on a pretty demanding course and he is coping, i know RMR is physically more demanding but, I think it is possible.

You will be advised by others that it is possible that you will be mobilised, once you hav finished your training, this is true and something I accept.

RC

Reaction score
mr.sniper said:
If I join the rmr while im at university will it interfere with my studies, im studying law which is quite diffucult?

It could interfere with your studies. However, the majority of my troop were students and seemed to manage fairly well. If you want to get a good degree you'll need to manage your time effectively and make a few sacrifices to your social life.

Basically for me when I was a recruit, I would need to dedicate the following to the RMR:

Every other weekend we were in the field. Usually I would need to be at the detachment for 6 - 7 o'clock on a Friday and I would get home after 5 on a Sunday. I always took my kit home a de-serviced it there (usually took an hour plus). Some weekends you will not get any sleep at all which can take a while to catch up on.

Every Tuesday we would have a drill night between 8 and 10 o'clock. It would normally take about 30 minutes to an hour to prepare / iron kit before attending.

You will be given lots of information on drill nights and weekends which you need to learn and revise from your notes / handouts. So you may need to set an hour a side each week for revision.