Dismiss Notice
'Users of this forum are reminded they should not discuss performance of individual attendees at PRMC or in Recruit Training for PERsonal SECurity and in observance of Diversity & Inclusion legislation'.

Security Clearence - Commenwealth - How long?

Discussion in 'Introductions & Welcome to the Royal Marines Site' started by Ghost123, Mar 31, 2019.

1. Ghost123

Ghost123 New Member

App Stage:
    Passed PRMC
    Hi guys. Hoping you can give me a slight indication, just trying to manage what i tell my current employers etc.

Have my PRMC 30th April. Applied for SC two months ago. Still says in progress. I'm a UK resident on a ancestral visa. From South Africa, 26 years old.

Anyone in the same boat and have an idea of how long SC processing times are currently taking for South African applicants?

Do i tell my boss I'm heading to PRMC, pass and have another 4-6 weeks untill RT. Or do i say i have PRMC 30th April, and my SC might only come through in another 4 months? Making it potentially awkward at work.

Appreciate the help.

• Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2019
  2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker Admin

SC for some people living overseas can take up to 12 months unfortunately, in some instances.

I'd be inclined to take leave to do your PRMC & then wait until you have a start date (& SC) before declaring it at work.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Ghost123

Ghost123 New Member

App Stage:
    Passed PRMC
    I appreciate the reply Ninja. I am currently living in the UK and have been since March 2017. Ive emailed NSVS and asked them if they would like an origional copy of my South African police clearence, would that help? One more question. Have you seen any commanwealth applicants (mainly South African) done in a short space of time? 2 or 3 or 4 months? Just looking for a slight bit of hope. The possibility of 12 months is pretty bleak!