Shin Splints

Roy Brown

Reaction score
Looks like i've got shin splints. Went to the running shop the other day they told me the neutral running shoe is correct for me (the one i've been using for two months) and yet still even after a proper warmup (dynamic stretches plus short sprints etc) as soon as i start running the shins hurt:sad:. So looks like i'm out for a while and one person told me i could be out for nine months depending on the extent of the injury! So anyone want to tell me why they think it could have been caused? Also how long do you think it will take and what can i do in the meantime? Cheers.

BradfordBulls

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Hmmm, i don't quite understand what shin splints are. I think I may have them, what happens to me is when i get into the run the back of my legs start to hurt when my feet hit the ground (but are getting better), are these shin splints?

Roy Brown

Reaction score
I don't think you've got them mate it's at the bottom of your legs and i read that it's on the inside of the leg. If it hurts here as soon as you start running then it's shin splints. I'm not sure if i have them though or if it's some other injury because my shins don't hurt on the inside or outside of shins but rather just the front.

stanhawk225

Reaction score
I suffered with this when i was in Army training. Pain in the shins on speed marching. Went for all kind of test's. Turn's out, it was just muscle growing.
With a bit more phys, pain got less and less. And i made to my unit.
Would check with your doc. He can give you a proper answer.
Good luck with it mate.

Roy Brown

Reaction score
Not sure about the pain in the back of your legs mate. Ask somebody on here or google it should help you out. Cheers for that Stan i thought doctors told you about coughs not sporting injuries *text deleted*.

stanhawk225

Reaction score