swimming teacher here

chris1988

Reaction score
hi all, im a swimming teacher at the moment and am training to become a royal marine, if you need any help with swimming i will be able to help (if there embarrsing private message me and ill get back to you!)

chrystal19

Reaction score
Awesome. I have just started swimming again as I am looking to join Manchester Triathlon Club. I go 6 times a week, but I don't really know what to do.

At the moment I do:

300m warm up
10 x 100m/3:00
2 x 200m/5:45
1x100m target under two mins
150m warm down

I really like this workout. The other workout I do is just a two mile freestyle. I really need a third workout so I can repeat it twice in one week.

Could you suggest one? Do I need to do drills If I'm just aiming for Triathlon progress? How about 6-10 sets of 200m?

Also when swimming fast freestyle my hands propell me along underwater close to my body. However when swimming slower, my hands/arms sink a fair bit and I'm not as bouyant or streamlined - what's going wrong?

chris1988

Reaction score
heres a set that you could do :-

400m warm up - 100m front crawl swim,100m front crawl drill 100m front crawl pull and 100m front crawl drill,b

1 hungarian rep set

so it goes 50,100m,200m,400m,800m,400m,200m,100m,50m all with 30seconds to 45 seconds rest in between each of the distances.

and cool down for atleast 15mins choice.

you can alter this to fit it all in to the time you have to swim.

i would like to know how you get on with this and to see if we can alter it accordingly.

with triathlon swimming its alot of distance if im correct, so mainly drills to work on you technique such as swimming frontcrawl but before you touch the water touch your shoulder and then stretch forward so you can start the pull again.

it seems with your arms, "sinking" you need to keep your boyancy with you kick, which means you have to kick harder to keep afloat.