The Selection process...

FrancisL1991

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Ok i'm a bit of a rookie on this site but.. I'm looking to apply to RM after A levels so like june time. I'm keeping fit running etc but.. I've seen guys who have nailed their PRMC already but have to wait until January until their RT? I know about The psychometric and PJFT etc but selection seems to take a fair while. How long does selection actually take?

Thanks.

Davies.1990.

Reaction score
it usually takes 4-6 months of applying at your local afco depending on fast they work. it can all depend on you aswell. goodluck pal :shakehands:

Ninja_Stoker

Admin
Reaction score
Welcome. First of all if you have the basic 5 GCSE's (A*-C including maths & english) already and aim to score over 180 UCAS points at A2, it may be worth considering joining as an officer.

There is only one Officer entry per year (September 09 is the next one) and you need to start the process before the end of Dec 08 for this next entry.

For RM Other Rank, you should allow 6 months on average to from start to entry to comfortably meet & pass the standards required. The AFCO won't hinder you however & if you are 100% fit and complete every element of selection immediately it's possibly to join within 3 months.

Good luck

Sam1

Royal Marines Commando - Moderator
Reaction score
It will be 4 months when i go to PRMC for my application (Y)

FrancisL1991

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Thanks

Thanks Ninja stoker and others! I had been considering going officer but I'm doing badly in my A levels. The fact that I want to be an RMC has distracted me from school, I'd rather be at the gym than doing my homework if you understand? Thanks for the advice and what you said about getting it done straight away means i could be done with selection in 3 months! I guess 5ish months will be likely.

Thanks all! x

Joe B

Reaction score