Told my dad about my intentions to join

bigsprinter05

Reaction score
I've been wanting to join for about 6 months now. At this point i'm certain i want to join, so i told my parents. My mum is fine with it (albeit a little apprehensive), but my dad's been chewing my ears off saying i'm just 'cannon fodder' etc. It doesn't change my mind but i'm 15 and i plan on joining at 17, so i don't really want a year and a half of this. Any thoughts on how to convince him?

Royal Marines Commando
Reaction score
Wait until you are 18, get some A-levels and then you can apply without his permission anyway.

But in all honesty getting some decent education will gen pay dividends in the long run, trust me.

bigsprinter05

Reaction score
Thanks for the quick reply. I'm studying 2 A-levels at the moment and will finish them by November next year. Do you need both parents permission to apply or just one ?

Massey

Reaction score
Might sound abit daft, but would people recommend joining a local army reserve unit, before joining the marines?

Naturally I've looked at joining RMR, but the logistics of it are unfeasible. Due to this, I've thought about joining a local army reserve in catterick e.g. Until I finish my apprenticeship and join regular marines in 3 years time?

Just wondered people's thoughts on this.

Vine

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
Might sound abit daft, but would people recommend joining a local army reserve unit, before joining the marines?

Naturally I've looked at joining RMR, but the logistics of it are unfeasible. Due to this, I've thought about joining a local army reserve in catterick e.g. Until I finish my apprenticeship and join regular marines in 3 years time?