too old/ young for officer training?

South Shields SAFC

Reaction score
For the past six months or so i have been thinking of apply for officers training after I complete my degree in 2010, I'll be 23 years old and if all goes to plan would like to begin training in september 2010. Just wondering if this is a young/ old age for a new recruit officer? Also I have never had any experience with the military or the marines before, will this matter?

Does it matter what subject im studying at degree level too? Or is it simply a measure of if your capable of studying at that level?

I appreciate any advice that you lads can give.

Ninja_Stoker

Admin
Reaction score
Welcome the site. As the age range for Officer is 17~26, being 23 is neither too old or young, and at risk of repeating Goldilocks: "Just right".

A degree isn't required, but just about doubles your starting income. As it isn't required, you are advised to consider a degree which will be of use to you in the civilian job market when you leave.

Officer training is around 14 months & no previous experience is required, but the URNU or OTC may help give you an insight.

FromtheGlos

Reaction score
OTC is definately a good shout, as it builds up leadership skills, fitness and a general understanding of how military life works. Good luck with it.

South Shields SAFC

Reaction score
Welcome the site. As the age range for Officer is 17~26, being 23 is neither too old or young, and at risk of repeating Goldilocks: "Just right".

A degree isn't required, but just about doubles your starting income. As it isn't required, you are advised to consider a degree which will be of use to you in the civilian job market when you leave.

Officer training is around 14 months & no previous experience is required, but the URNU or OTC may help give you an insight.

Just another thing mate, what would the starting income be with and without a completed degree? Why does a completed degree effect your wage?

a flying dodo