University Grad in Other Ranks

OurFenianDead

Reaction score
Hello lads.

I've wanted to become a RM Officer since I was 15 years old (I'm 22 at the moment), though a few years ago I found out that Irish nationals are ineligible. For that reason I'm leaning towards applying to become a Regular Officer in the Army, though I thought I would scour all the information on RM Other Ranks I could find in order to dispel the boyhood dream! Bascially I wanted to know whether there are any mentally challenging roles within Other Ranks. I graduated from University with a First in Law and am multi-lingual. I'm sure I would enjoy being a RM Commando immensely (I'm not assuming here that I have what it takes to be a commando, just commenting on the work), but I feel I would desire something more mentally challenging. I also feel like I might not synch with the men I would through training with. I know a lot of recruits are from working-class backgrounds and most don't go through University. I hope this isn't condescending, I just mean people with very different life experiences are less likely to click! Any information would be appreciated. Cheers.

fatboy3813

Reaction score
I am a university graduate and start RT in two weeks. I was originally shooting for this years YO batch. After passing both POC and AIB I was unsuccessful on final selection board. The YO batch is very *text deleted*ing competetive, every year. I believe that over 80 blokes passed POC & AIB, but there were only 35-40 jobs available.

Go OR and push for career with complete confidence that Bootneck officers are *text deleted*ing superheroes! - always opportunities for corps commissions later down the line...

Many blokes who are unsuccessful in getting into the batch pursue a career though OR. Though, I think It is worth highlighting that’s it SHOULD NOT be thought of as a second best, or ‘non-mentally stimulating’ career path.

fatboy3813

Reaction score