Why is autiusm a bar to entry?

Silent

Reaction score
From what I have heard everyone has it to a certain extent as it can be very mild. Also people who are very shy can often be misdiagnosed with it.

Zakh0

Reaction score
Well... Common sense tells me that Autism results in a bar from entry because of the main symptoms: Underdeveloped socially, Underdeveloped communication skills
About a third to a half of individuals with autism do not develop enough natural speech to meet their daily communication needs
(Courtesy of Wikipedia [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autism] )
I'm no expert but in any armed forces communication skills are essential, if you can't communicate you can probobly expect yourself to be very dead, very quickly and chances are you're oppo's aren't *text deleted* be too well off either...

I could rant and rave for a while but I'll be silent now :smile:, I have nothing against anyone with mental disability's at all but Autism and any other mental health issues are, rightly so, a bar from entry.

Nacnud

Valuable Contributor
Reaction score
I work with autistic children (Barnardo's), so i've got a bit of experience on how autistic people cope in every day life.

Autistic people have A LOT of difficulty in social communication, only the VERY mild ones really have a chance at a successful independent life. They find it hard to talk, show social skills (may not make any friends, may not give or follow orders).

Secondly, they'd find it very difficult to settle in their new life as a potential marine. They are very resistant to change, and often get very upset if something very difficult happens. This may not happen with very mild autism, but you can't risk it in a dangerous life threatening environment.